SMILEs All Round at North East Disability Sports Awards

The North East Disability Sport Awards (NEDSA) took place on Thursday 23 March, celebrating the continuing success of disability sport in the region.

The 14th NEDSA event recognised the incredible achievements of a wide range of clubs, coaches, schools and athletes across the North East and took place at Slaley Hall in Northumberland. Over 200 guests were in attendance at the event, including the 100 nominees attending for the ten awards on offer.

nedsa17schoolAs well as sponsoring the school award – won by Sunnyside Academy, SMILE Through Sport was heavily represented on the night. With a nomination in the club/group category and many of our coaches nominated.

rosdubaiCoach of the Year went to SMILE Through Sport coach Ros Miller, who coaches not only for our organisation, but also has a group of throwers within Gateshead Harriers. She coached her son, Stephen Miller, to a bronze medal at the Rio Paralympics last summer. Ros was away with Stephen in Dubai for the World Para-Athletics Grand Prix, so SMILE MD Rachel Miller picked up the award.


Another SMILE coach Laura Brown was also nominated in this category and received a certificate to mark her brilliant progress since joining the SMILE Team, the judging panel were very impressed with her nomination.

SMILE coach Cath McNicol was also on the stage as part of Middlesbrough Powerchair Football Club, who won Team of the Year.

It was a great night and great to see the depth of talent in disability sport in the North East, we hope that this event continues to grow and as always SMILE is proud to support NEDSA.

Other winners on the night were:

Male Personality – Sponsored by Active Northumberland: Matt Wylie

Female Personality – Sponsored by Active Northumberland: Jade Jones

Young Male Achiever – Sponsored by Rotary North East: Jamie Blott

Young Female Achiever – Sponsored by Rotary North East: Ellen Stephenson

Outstanding Club/Group Award – Sponsored by D&P Trophies: Angling 4 All

Participant Award – Sponsored by the 4 NE CSPs: Richard Young

Service to Sport – Sponsored by Transforming Culture: Susan Prasad